We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Loop Collective

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


Buffalo 05:03
Scrutiny 08:14
Matryoshka 06:05


Fringe Magnetic
Release Date: 2nd December 2013 (Loop Records)

“The grip of this oddly compelling music doesn't loosen for a moment” Mojo

Clocca is the third and final album from Fringe Magnetic, a 12-piece ensemble led by trumpet-player and composer Rory Simmons. Originally born out of a desire to fuse contemporary classical composition with the energy of cutting edge jazz, Fringe Magnetic’s genre-bending sonic landscape has been sculpted over the last 7 years by influences as diverse as Django Bates, Brian Eno, Scott Walker, Bela Bartok and Igor Stravinsky. As The Guardian puts it, “nothing else sounds quite like them.”

Fringe Magnetic features an all-star cast - Simmons himself has worked with Jamie Cullum, Friendly Fires, Mount Kimbie, Bat For Lashes and The Guillemots amongst others, whilst the rest of the ensemble is a who’s who of Europe’s finest musicians. Joining Simmons are pianist Ivo Neame, bassist Jasper Hoiby, a wind section comprising flautist Tori Freestone, clarinettist Robin Fincker, and bass clarinet master James Allsopp, a string section of Kit Massey on violin and cellist Natalie Rozario, with vocal contributions from Elisabeth Nygaard, Emilia Martensson and renegade baritone Andrew Plummer, all rooted by the inventive percussion of Ben Reynolds.
On Clocca, Rory Simmons has taken the rich acoustic palette of Fringe Magnetic and sensitively blended in electronic elements. Woodwind, brass and strings are all set against an array of glacial bell samples, tape saturated horn loops and sweeps of detuned guitars, the 12 tracks littered with arching melodies and playful rhythmic cells. From the English pastoral charm of ‘Only A Poltroon’ and the hypnotically distorted aria ‘Cross The Border’, to the woozy avant-garde of ‘Scrutiny’, Clocca takes twists and turns through a murky, gothic landscape.


released February 12, 2013

Rory Simmons- trumpet/guitar/electronics
Robin Fincker- clarinet
Tori Fresstone- flute/piccolo
James Allsopp- bass clarinet
Kit Massey- violin
Natalie Rozario- cello
Jasper Hoiby- bass
Ivo Neame- piano
Ben Reynolds- drums

Vocals from
Elisabeth Nygaard
Andrew Plummer
Emilia Martensson

All music written, composed and edited by Rory Simmons
Mixed by Alex Bonney
Produced by Rory Simmons
Tracks 7 and 10 co-produced with Alex Bonney
Mastered by Lew Hopkin at Star Delta Mastering
Artwork by Sarah Wharton


all rights reserved



Loop Collective London, UK

Loop is a collective of musicians that was founded in 2005 in London. Its members are in demand at the forefront of the contemporary jazz and improvised music scene in the UK and Europe. Amidst challenging circumstances for contemporary music making, they have created a network of shared resources to promote their original music. ... more

contact / help

Contact Loop Collective

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Loop Collective, you may also like: